Reader Reviews

Pearl Harbor

The following site reviews were submitted by readers like you. Discovered (or created) a cool site we should know about? Click here to add URL.

Pearl Harbor Child

March 17, 2007 -- From Dorinda, a reader, from Kansas City, Missouri, who is affiliated with the site.

“She tells us about watching our ships burn in the harbor, and digging bullets out of her kitchen wall, worrying about her dog Hula Girl, and what it was like to carry a gas mask everywhere. Dorinda not only provides us with a child’s unsophisticated view…from the vantage point of half a century later, she also enriches that account with today’s deeper understanding.”
Capt. Edward Beach, USN retired, WWII Submarine Commander


Pearl Harbor Child

November 29, 2006 -- From Larry, a reader, from Missouri, who is affiliated with the site.

My wife was six years old, living with her civilian parents on the Pearl City Peninsula inside Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. She stood with her father in their front yard, and watched the Japanese torpedo bombers roar overhead at treetop level on their way to attack the USS Utah, only a few hundred yards away. She has written her account of that experience, and features that story and much more on her website.

December 7, 1941 – Timidity Takes A Holiday

November 29, 2006 -- From Judy (Webgrammar), a reader, from Near Phoenix, Arizona, who is affiliated with the site.

When I married Jack Vorfeld of Oahu Sugar Company in 1971, I inherited many treasured memories. I interviewed him on many subjects, and when the Web came into being, began writing articles for my personal website. I never met Jack’s first wife; she died two years before I met him, but I learned to love her as I “met” her through the eyes and hearts of the Vorfelds. When Japan attacked Pearl Harbor, Maxine, Jack, and their two boys were living in Waipahu, on the plantation, and what Maxine accomplished will probably never be known in full. She just did what she had to do as planes buzzed their home and smoke billowed from nearby Pearl Harbor.

Official Pearl Harbor History Associates

May 5, 2006 -- From David Aiken, a reader from Texas, who is affiliated with the site

This portal has photos of the attack, a memorial to the USS Arizona, 30,000 pages of online documents, a links section, and a kids safe message board. This is the largest World War II site on Internet!

Official Pearl Harbor History Associates, Inc. Site

May 16, 2002 -- From David, a reader from Texas, who is affiliated with the site

This “portal” leads to: photos of attack, memorial of USS Arizona site, the Congressional Investigation with 30,000 pages of online documents, This is the largest World War II site on internet!

Attack on Pearl Harbor: Heroes, Speeches, Movies and Books

March 10, 2002 -- From Jeff Pugh, a reader from USA, who is affiliated with the site

We welcome anyone interested in the learning more about the events leading up to the Japanese sneak attack at Pearl Harbor on that Day in Infamy December 7, 1941.

Pearl Harbor Special Report

December 3, 2001 -- From Dave, a reader from Seaside, California who is affiliated with the site

This well-rounded Special Report is actually several articles: a detailed account of the Pearl Harbor attack, an examination of the war in the Pacific before and after the attack, an examination of the war in Europe before and after the attack, a review of a new book containing survivors’ stories, and the author’s own recent personal journey to the USS Arizona memorial. ALL of the articles are illustrated and easy-to-read.

Pearl Harbor Attacked

March 20, 2001 -- From Angie Sagan, a parent from Ohio, USA who is affiliated with the site

Relive the attack on the USS Arizona with exclusive photos. Pearl Harbor Historians and Veterans are standing by waiting to answer your questions regarding the attack on our message board.