Barbara J. Feldman

On August 24, 2006, astronomers declared that Pluto is no longer a planet, thereby downsizing the solar system from nine planets to eight. After a week of debate, the International Astronomical Union stripped Pluto of planetary status because its orbit crosses Neptune’s and therefore fails one of three planetary requirements. Instead, Pluto (along with Ceres and Xena) is now classified as a dwarf planet.

  • NASA: New Horizons5 stars

    Although NASA hasn't updated this website to reflect Pluto's demotion, I didn't think any discussion of Pluto would be complete without including the New Horizons spacecraft (launched January 19, 2006) on its way to a 2015 date with Pluto. Mouse around in the Education section to discover printable classroom activities, printable fact sheets, and introductory lessons about Pluto, Charon (Pluto's satellite) and the Kuiper Belt (a "swarm of bodies" beyond Neptune.)

  • NASA: Solar System Exploration: Pluto5 stars

    "Discovered by American astronomer Clyde Tombaugh in 1930, Pluto takes 248 years to orbit the Sun. Pluto's most recent close approach to the Sun was in 1989." This NASA site is a must visit for anyone writing a school report. It includes fact and figures, an image gallery, and a Kid's Eye View section with a scale that calculates how much you would weight on Pluto.

  • The New York Times: Pluto Dwarf Planet4 stars

    This archive of New York Times news articles, editorials, and letters to the editor chronicles Pluto's recent history. The articles marked with the orange "T" logo are for paid subscribers only, but with a simple registration there are plenty of free articles to read. I enjoyed getting a sense of public reaction to Pluto's status change by reading reader's letters and the opinion pieces. For a bit of humor, read Tim Kreider's op-ed "I Heart Pluto."

  • Windows to the Universe: Pluto4 stars

    "Pluto is now officially classified as a dwarf planet. It is one of the largest members of a class of icy spheres known as Kuiper Belt Objects. It has three known moons; one of which, Charon, is very large - almost as big as Pluto itself!" Windows to the Universe is another good site for report research. Clicks worth exploring are the Pluto Image Archive, Planetary Facts, and Pluto's Web (links to external Pluto sites.)

  • Honorable Mentions

    The following links are either new discoveries or sites that didn't make it into my newspaper column because of space constraints. Enjoy!

    Cite This Page

  • Feldman, Barbara. "Pluto." Surfnetkids. Feldman Publishing. 6 Sep. 2006. Web. 9 Oct. 2014. < >.

  • About This Page

  • By . Originally published September 6, 2006. Last modified July 9, 2014.

  • When Is a Planet Not a Planet?: The Story of Pluto
    When Is a Planet Not a Planet?: The Story of Pluto
    by Elaine Scott
    Price: $4.31

    How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming
    How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming
    by Mike Brown
    - Usually ships in 24 hours
    Price: $7.87

    The Pluto Files: The Rise and Fall of America s Favorite Planet
    The Pluto Files: The Rise and Fall of America's Favorite Planet
    by Neil deGrasse Tyson
    - Usually ships in 24 hours
    Price: $9.42