While Facebook is a great way to get to know people, it is not the best option for everyone. If you have had enough of Facebook and feel that deleting your account is best, you can do so. The following are a few options for quitting Facebook:
1. Deactivate Your Account
If you choose to deactivate your account, your profile and content will become unavailable to other Facebook users. However, the information will be preserved so that should you reactivate in the future. You will still have all of your friends, photos, posts and notes.
To deactivate your account, log on to Facebook and let your friends know you will be gone. Then select “Deactivate Account” section on the Account page, and your profile will immediately be made inaccessible to other Facebook users. Be sure to let people know you are quitting so that they do not try to contact you via Facebook in the future.
2. Permanent Deletion
If you choose to permanently delete your account, the information will be gone forever. Should you choose to use Facebook in the future, you will have to re-create your profile, re-friend your friends and set everything else up, as for the first time. Consider carefully whether deactivation or deletion is the better option for you before making a decision.
To permanently delete your account you have to send in a request and fill out a form explaining why you do not think you will use Facebook in the future.
To do this you will want to go to:
Once you are there, choose the first link under the section titled Security. The link should read: ‘I want to permanently delete my account’.
Information will come up about permanent deletion versus deactivation. If you wish to continue deleting your account, click the link to submit the request.
Facebook employees will process the request, and within a few days your account should be permanently deleted.
3. Get Deleted By Facebook
For a faster, unconventional way to get your account deleted immediately you can simply misuse and abuse your page. Break the rules, spam other users or make inappropriate remarks. Facebook will quickly and permanently delete your account.
See there I go again. Moving too fast. I apologize. Could you please delete my earlier comment. Thank you.
Actually, if you deactivate, as long as you have access to your outside contact email (its in your Account Settings), everything will reactivate when, and if, you decide to come back.